Macabre; A Journey through Australia's Darkest Fears
Edited by Angela Challis & Dr Marty Young (Brimstone Press, 2010)
ISBN-13: 9780980567748
Available from Amazon and Smashwords in e-book format for only $4.99. Print copies are available in all good bookstores or by contacting Marty on martyyoung2002 [@] 

WINNER - Australian Shadows Award 2010 - Best Edited Publication
NOMINATED - Bram Stoker Award 2010 - Superior Achievement in an Anthology
NOMINATED - Aurealis Awards 2010 - Best Anthology
NOMINATED - Ditmar Awards 2010 - Best Anthology
WINNER - Aurealis Award for Best Horror Short Story 2010 for "The Fear" by Richard Harland

"The must have collection for 2010 or any year for  that matter" - Jeff Ritchie (ScaryMinds)

"Macabre is destined to be regarded as a landmark Australian anthology - up there with Congreve's Intimate Armageddons and Blackmore's Terror Australis" - Chuck McKenzie (HorrorScope)

Explore Australia's dark literature past, present, and future all in one landmark anthology.

Macabre is a snapshot of the fears that have gripped Australians for over 200 years: the isolation of the bush, monstrous fauna, supernatural terrors, violence, war, terrorism, alienation, cannibalism, and murder. From the very earliest colonial ghost stories through to grim tales of modern life, Macabre will take you on a journey through the terrifying heart of Australian horror.

At a massive 672 pages, with a detailed essay on the history of Australian horror, an Australian horror fiction timeline, and 38 stories from three eras (classics, modern masters, and new era originals), Macabre is, without doubt, the most significant anthology of Australian horror ever published.


Classics (1836-1979)
Modern Masters 1980-2000)
The New Era (2000-)
Barbara Baynton
Stephen Dedman
Nathan Burrage
Guy Boothby
Terry Dowling
Matthew Chrulew
A. Bertram Chandler
Leanne Frahm
Shane Jiraiya Cummings
Marcus Clarke
Robert Hood
Will Elliott
E. Downs
Rick Kennett
Russell B. Farr
Ernest Favenc
Kaaron Warren
Bob Franklin
Mary Fortune
Sean Williams
Paul Haines
Wolfe Herscholt
Richard Harland
John Lang
Stephen M. Irwin
Henry Lawson
Gary Kemble
H. B. Marriott-Watson
Tim Kroenert
Vol Molesworth
Martin Livings
Hume Nisbet
Kirstyn McDermott
David Unaipon
Andrew J. McKiernan
Kyla Ward
Susan Wardle
David Witteveen
& David Conyers